Benefits of Disability Act to cover 14 new categories, including acid attack victims

The Centre is bringing in 14 new categories of physical and mental conditions, under the ambit of the Disability Act, 2016. Under the new notification, scheduled to be issued next month, acid attack survivors will be treated as disabled, a senior official in the social justice and empowerment ministry said.
At present, the act provides the disability rights and benefits to seven special categories of people comprising blindness, low-vision, locomotive disability, hearing impairment, mental retardation, mental illness and leprosy.

Source :

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s